SugarSync, if you’re not familiar, is one of the top contenders to Dropbox and Box, and it has been steadily expanding the feature set for business class users. For the full scoop, you can read my article on what’s new with SugarSync that accompanied our SugarSync giveaway, or my comparison of Dropbox vs. SugarSync. You can sign up now at SugarSync.com/business. Other SugarSync features that might woo business users include: Those features are all part of SugarSync’s existing suite of business cloud storage features. The big news item here is the unlimited storage they promise. The price is higher than the old 100 GB/3 user plan ($299.99/year), but depending on your storage needs, the unlimited plan might be a good deal. Previously, you could increase your storage in increments of 100 GB for $29.99 a month. If my algebra is correct, if you get over 900 GB, then you’re saving money with the unlimited plan. To be clear, the old SugarSync Business pricing is going away. Going forward, only the unlimited storage plan will be available. I am not sure what this means for existing business users.. Existing business users can either keep their old pricing or upgrade to the unlimited account. This table breaks down a few comparable plans from SugarSync: So far, this sounds like it could be a good deal. But there’s no word on any caps or limitations for the unlimited plan either. Just like an overzealous diner getting banned from all you can eat buffet, there are many ways that a business can rein in a customer going wild on an “unlimited” plan. For example, I was grandfathered into the AT&T unlimited data plan, but when I get around 5 GB of usage, they slow down my 3G speeds beyond usability. As always, it’s a good idea to dig into the terms of service before signing up. Update: I asked a SugarSync rep if there would be any limitations or caveats on the unlimited storage, and I was assured that there would not be. I also asked if there would be any cap on bandwidth, or if business users could rely on a certain transfer speed or uptime guarantee. An answer on that is still pending. My take is that SugarSync is wisely going to leave the door open for managing unusually voracious data users. But exercising those options won’t be part of the business model. I would expect that typical business users will not run into any issues, but if you know for a fact that your data needs are extraordinary, I would talk to the SugarSync sales team first to ensure your needs are covered. Would you pay $55 a month for unlimited cloud storage? Let us know in the comments. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

SugarSync Business Rolls Out Unlimited Cloud Storage Plan - 6SugarSync Business Rolls Out Unlimited Cloud Storage Plan - 72