It’s that time of year where families come together, but for the “computer geeks” in the family, holidays can easily become “family tech support” weekend.  The geeks at Google apparently share my duty… and to help keep everyone remain sane this year they’ve made a new site for teaching family members a little about computers .  The site is called Teach Parents Tech and it’s packed full of simple how-to tech videos designed for the not-so-geeky.  Yup, anyone including your non-tech parents can follow without any trouble! The TechParentsTech website works by you filling out a basic webapp questionnaire.  The questionnaire allows you select which relevant video tutorials you’d like to send, along with some snarky but appropriate commentary.  It’s really simple, I think in total it takes about 30 seconds to fill out.

Once you’re done with the questionnaire you’ll get to preview it and then email it off to your mom, dad, or other family member who is in need of computer help.

The one thing you’ll have to note is that these tutorials are a bit biased.  All of the videos were made by Google, are hosted on YouTube, and use Google Services to answer every tech problem available. That being said, if you don’t have a problem with Google then this is for sure a groovy shortcut down the road of weening family and friends off the…  well… you get it.  ;) So yeah, I love this post also heheh I follow the same strategy in life. My wife once asked me to run a load of dishes. I put her crystal glassware on the top, all crammed together. I made sure to ask her to review my work and presto, no more dishes! She once asked me to help with the laundry. I put her mohair sweater in the dryer for 4 hours. I’ll never be asked to help with that again! (Note to self – Don’t ask Doug to help out on the blog) Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Save Yourself From Family Tech Support Requests - 67Save Yourself From Family Tech Support Requests - 54Save Yourself From Family Tech Support Requests - 91Save Yourself From Family Tech Support Requests - 96